Journey Beginnings: Language Development

Learning a foreign language is both intriguing and challenging. I enjoy experiencing and learning new things. However, I wish that someone would invent a way to make the process easier accomplish.

I started out using an online sight that makes it easier to learn a language. The only thing is that “easier is never the best way” to learn a language. I received that bit of advice from some Brazilian friends.

I then received a language resource from a friend that uses CD’s as well as a dictionary and learning guide. This seemed to work better until my brain started wanting to learn phrases that I would need to know when I would interact with people. That is when another friend gave us Rosetta Stone for Portuguese.

I really enjoy using the Rosetta Stone material because you learn to read, hear and say the words and phrases properly. Being able to work in this format has helped me read my Portuguese and English Bible more accurately. I am now at the point where I am testing the translation.

I am studying John chapter 1 with my Bible and a good Portuguese dictionary. With this challenge I will build a good foundation for m Portuguese language skills.

Leave a comment